My Slow Descent Into Health

Day 1

Yes, you read that right. As I am sitting here typing away at my computer I am thinking about this journey I am about to embark on, and all I can think is, “Shit. What am I getting myself into?”

Let me go back. Even as a growing child, I have always “kept my baby fat.” I have never in my life been what anyone could consider “thin.” Not that this is all about being “conventionally thin,” I mean, it’s about health for me mostly. However, since I am a woman, and have a vagina in the year 2014, I do give a shit about being “thin” as well. I never got into sports. In middle school I once attempted to join the track team. I ran for about five minutes and realized that my boobs would (already) either a) knock me out, b) give me a black eye, and/or c) fall off in front of a crowd of people in rebellion to my awkward bouncing about in a circle, at my school. I didn’t even stay for the rest of the try out. My poor single Dad had no idea how to help me, and kind of laughed that idea off with me. Bless his heart.

Speaking of my Dad, around that same time he let me venture into cooking. What do you think a 12 year old chubby girl wanted to learn to cook?? Macaroni and cheese, and sausage patties. I swear on my doomed-to-be cholesterol filled grave- I cooked that maybe once a week until he stopped letting me. Then I learned how to make a rocking lasagna and no one stopped me from cooking that whenever we had the ingredients.

So anyways, here I am. I am turning thirty on Friday. Two years ago I promised myself I would be in the best shape of my life by thirty.

::gets up to weigh myself::

::takes off husband’s sweater because that’s going to make a massive difference, let’s be honest here::

231.4 lbs

Now to give myself some lee-way I do normally weigh myself in the morning after my I relieve myself of excrement, because again, obvious massive difference there. But for the sake of getting this along, I’ll just call a horse a horse and say, I’m a horse. Not a prancing, elegant, unicorn looking pony, I’m a clydesdale that is still on the chubby side.

So here I am, dedicating myself to you, dear reader. Every day for at least the next 365 days, I will jump on here and tell you all about my descent into health. I will let this keep me accountable. I will tell you exactly how I feel about every grueling moment and I may even give you pictures, because really, what’s the fun with out the selfies?

Today I will do thirty minutes of exercise. I will either write about that later on today or tomorrow, not sure which yet. I will try to eat healthier, and tell you about that.

Please head the following *disclaimer*- I will NOT be POLITICALLY CORRECT. I will be honest about how I feel about ME. I will not apologize for that. I don’t want pity. I don’t want sympathy. I want to laugh about my condition, and laugh on the way to wherever this leads me. If you can’t handle that- don’t read my works.

On that note- signing off. If I don’t write again, I will now be dreaming about macaroni and cheese, and sausage patties tonight. Like cheesy baked bacon. Mmmmmmm…

Dammit.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/fa1/81047259/files/2014/12/img_6977.jpg

6 comments on “Day 1

  1. Jessi
    December 17, 2014

    You got this woman. Just let your body and mind tell you what is going to work for you. I just stepped on the scale and saw 249. Again. That’s 5lbs I put back on because I lost my self control this past week. I refuse to beat myself up over it because a few months ago it said 287. You and I have to fight the fight forever but we can. We have the best motivators. I love you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Helen Bragdon-Tinkler
    December 17, 2014

    Ah, the good fight – let 30 be your magic number…30 years…30 minutes…and definitely weigh yourself AFTER the poop and without the sweater!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Tiff Stacy
    December 18, 2014

    Girl, I can’t tell you how disgusted I’ve felt about my body and my lack of interest in my own health for the last 10 years. Now at 35 and weighing in at a good ol’ 200.4 lbs and with a prescription for high blood pressure meds I find myself at my worst. Disgust! I read this and am excited to follow you on your journey and anticipate the inspiration I have a good feeling I’m going to get from it. I’m proud for you and will cheer you on hopefully not from the sidelines for too long but running (well, maybe a slow jog because these boobs weren’t made for running. Word. Lol) along with you. #tunedin

    Like

    • Noel Marie Ross
      December 18, 2014

      I tooooootally understand. And hey, if I can get even one more person to jump on this train with me, fantastic. I’m doing this for the laughs, for the sake of being honest about it, and maybe throw some awareness out there about what this is like. And omg the boobs. It’s the most confusing love/hate relationship I have EVER had.

      Like

  4. Nicole Tramont
    December 21, 2014

    this is awesome Noel. What a way to keep yourself motivated and on track. I’ve always wanted to become more healthy and I was just talking to kris about that last night. It’s not about being ‘thin’, but active and healthy and aware. So many bad food choices easily available to us all, it becomes damn near impossible to choose the right things. Unless you’re dedicated and knowledgeable and STRONG. Mentally of course. I believe you will get there and I will continue to read these in hopes of staying dedicated too! Thanks for this πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Noel Marie Ross
      December 21, 2014

      Thank you so much!! I am definitely drawing strength from people enjoying this blog and being so wonderfully supportive. If i get theough this- anyone can do it. Hahaha

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 17, 2014 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

