My Slow Descent Into Health

Day 10 (side notes on diets)

I have tried many many diets over the years. When Atkins came out, I tried eating less carbs and adding more meat thinking that’s what the diet was. I’ve had grapefruits every day for weeks. I tried being a vegetarian/vegan (My husband was not on board with that and I can’t really blame him. It’s a big change. But it did make it more difficult to do). When juicing became a thing (which I still think works for some and that’s awesome, and I’ll probably still make and drink some juices) I tried to do that and the fact that I had to still cook for my kids made it a completely unbearable diet.* Every diet I have ever tried ultimately left me hungry all the time. Eating just healthy left me full, cooking my own foods and such but I never really lost a bunch of weight. I think it’s the best way to go, but I’m learning that I still have a lot to learn about food.

Something Bad Ass said to me and is still resonating with me is “You are not a dog, don’t reward yourself with food.” Why do we do that? I am such an emotional eater. I made that pretty evident in previous blogs. Why wouldn’t I save myself some money on plates of sushi and find others ways to reward myself?

Partially I think it’s because (at least in America) junk food is so cheap compared to services. Here in Bahrain I can get a Moroccan Bath and pretend I’m Rose (“I want you draw me like one of your French girls Jack,”) while getting scrubbed for an hour- for about the price a meal at Applebee’s back home. Maybe less. That’s something I think this part of the world has right, spa services are competitive and it’s a social norm here. Also I’m so used to eating for fun or to feel better instead of going for a bike ride or doing something outdoors. I’d still rather lay in my bed with my husband all day than most anything else available.

I have a lot of habits to change. It’s such a tall order. But hey, ladies, we rearrange our lives for our partners and then again for our kids. Maybe it isn’t too much to do it for ourselves?

Today I actually ate really well. I had an egg for breakfast, I cooked kabobs, wings and broccoli for lunch, and I made steak fajitas for dinner but I skipped the beans and the tortilla. I didn’t put cheese on it either. I used a substitute called “nutritional yeast.” It tastes like cheddar and even my kids love it. I’m not anti-dairy, but I’ve been using this stuff for a while and I love it. You can find it at most organic stores. I did not work out. I definitely fought some regret about that. I chose to sleep in and got to a flea market this morning instead. Don’t much care for the regret feeling.

Signing out.

*and if you mess up a juice recipe, it can be like drinking straight dirt juice. Sweet potatoes are not my favorite thing to juice. At all.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 26, 2014 by in comedy, DEC2014, Losing weight, Working out and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
