My Slow Descent Into Health

Day 22

I’m writing this a little earlier than usual. You see, today was bad luck after back luck after bad luck. I woke up to my daughter saying she hadn’t slept all night and that she needed more sleep. I assumed she was sick so I told her to go back to bed and got my older son off to school. She woke up at 9:30am and I asked her how she felt. She said she felt fine and asked to go to school. I asked, “Are you sure you feel ok?” She replied, “Well, can I play video games?..” “You’re going to school.”

I missed my work out assuming my daughter was sick, only to bring to her school at 10.

Then I went to pick up my mail. I order stuff online from time to time since we live in Bahrain and there’s not exactly a Target down the street. This time I ordered these adorable flats that have a strap around the ankle and they fit!! I put them on and went to go to the bank. By the time I got in the bank, a really nice blister had already formed.

I have a mother of a blister on the back of my heel. A small one on the other. I will not miss another work out. So guess what ladies and gentlemen? Tomorrows work out with be my first “blood, sweat, and tears” combo work out. Am I whining and being possibly over dramatic? Maybe. But I was pissed. I still am pissed. It accidentally popped and now I’m walking around limping and accidentally hitting it on shit and I’m just mad at it.

Otherwise, the end of the day seems to be going ok. My husband is home, which is always nice for multiple orgas-er-reasons.

Eggs for breakfast with chicken sausage, chicken salad with raw snap peas and mustard. It was delicious. It was hard walking through the food court today. The schwarma never smelled so good, and that isn’t even the best schwarma here. Tonight for dinner we are having lamb chop grills. It’s kind of a favorite of mine. I’m also going to steam some broccoli* and have a salad on the side too. My husband is coming around to the way I’m eating and seeing the value to it since I’m slimming. I haven’t weighted myself in a while and Ass Kicker said not to weigh our selves until the end of the 30 day healthy eating challenge, and I am more than ok with that.**

Well, here’s to a better and over all more successful day tomorrow!

Signing off.

*sans nutritional yeast. Ass Kicker told me to stop masking flavors. “Using it in a recipe or just a little here and there for nutritional value is good, but not to mask the flavor of other foods.” I growled a little but I’m in this 100% and she has a good head on her shoulders so I’ll listen.

** Knowing the numbers are going down would be nice and a motivation, but at the same time, getting healthy isn’t about the numbers. It’s about how you feel. I feel good. And my clothes are starting to fit me differently. Not in a way anyone else would really notice (though two people have said something) but the super fat things I would nitpick myself about I’m the mirror are going away. That feels good.

Leave a Reply

