My Slow Descent Into Health

Day 23

I got up, bandaged my feet and went to work out. Honest to goodness, I thought it was going to be the worst thing in the world, but when you’re fighting to do thrusters 25 times, rowing and pull ups, a blister or two ain’t really shit.

A friend of mine (we’ll call her Fairy God-sister*) had some left overs of some recipes I have not tried and she offered them to me. Not only was the food delicious, but she gave me some of the home made salad dressing** and it was delicious! It tastes just like ranch, maybe a little more of a zing to it, and it was great on my lunch salad.

See, we get so attuned to a particular way of eating that it doesn’t occur to us that all this other food (that may take some guess work and some learning) can be amazing and fulfilling! I wish I didn’t take so long to consider the dressing. I just feel like there’s way more possibilities out there that I haven’t explored yet because I have this “I can hack it” attitude. Learning to eat healthy takes more time and effort than that and I think it’s about time I get on that.

The work out was tough but I got through it, and I feel good about it. There is a certain thing I can’t to, I think it’s called a Clean Squat or something like that. I am having the hardest time joining the squat and the arm movements together. I’ll be practicing at home with my broom.

Today I had eggs for breakfast, (FG’s) chili and a salad for lunch, and I’m making a beef roast for dinner with roasted broccoli, potatoes (for the kids) and onions for dinner. All in all, a good day.

Signing out.

* Because she isn’t old enough to be my godmother, let me be honest. But I met her a couple times, and then she came up and had a bunch of really nice clothes for my daughter for good yard sale prices. Then she was selling dresses sized for my daughter, again, great prices and I bought those. We friended each other on Facebook, and when I started the blog, she connected me with my trainer. Now she’s doing the 30 day healthy eating challenge with our group. She has been pretty amazing to me.

** that I was apprehensive to try and make myself

Leave a Reply

