My Slow Descent Into Health

Day 42

It took about a month of working out for me to reach the goal of doing full push ups. I do not have to be on my knees for them anymore. It was harder, but it’s working out my lower belly more and who would ever complain about that? All in all I would say today was a good day. I’m ready for the challenge to be over but I have no intention of going back to the way I was eating. I can’t. I know all the health risks and going back just doesn’t seem worth it. I’ve made a lot of progress, but I still have a long way to go. I may in general continue with the healthy eating challenge but more on my own terms with the very occasional treat, or allow myself little amounts of things. I’m not 100% sure how it will go, but I’m ready for the process. If you’re going to go on the journey for weight loss, you can’t be afraid of change. So, there are definitely some permanent changes happening in my attitude towards my health and my life. I have to believe they are forever, and they are for my better.

Today for my work out I stretched, did some push ups and some squats, and did the strength portion of the work out. I worked on my one rep max for a dead lift. I got up to 160 lbs today. I don’t feel too bad about that. Next I need to get some weight lifting shoes, so I may do that this weekend. I’ll reward myself in that way for completing the challenge and well.* I didn’t the work out of the day today so I know I’ll give 100% tomorrow. I have to go at 5am because my son has an eye appt, and I have a hair appt. My hair is turning more and more blue, and so they’re fixing it for me, doing my make up and taking photos. I am excited for that. I like blue, but purple is really my goal. I’ve been getting my outfits on and feeling like they don’t match the image I was going for.

Food I ate: eggs, wings, grilled chicken and avocado salad for lunch, and lamb chops for dinner with vegetables.

Food I didn’t eat: blue cheese, bread sticks, naan bread,** French fries, and hummus. Which I love all that food.

Signing off.

*Instead of cakes. And ice cream. And pizza. And pretzels. And chocolate. And sushi…. I need to stop.

**This naan bread is a gift, and if you haven’t tried it, you’re missing out on a life experience. Sigh.

IMG_7589

Leave a Reply

