My Slow Descent Into Health

Day 51

Five things I have heard from Ass Kicker:

“Do you have to quit because there’s somewhere you need to be? No? You’re going to finish the WOD.

Nope, no where to be. Just feel like I’m dying.

But in the end, I’m still here, and so she is right. Nothing in the world feels like finishing those crazy ass work outs she puts together to push us to our limits. And I did thank her at the end. Am I a masochist? Maybe. May be.

“If you can text in the middle of a WOD, you are not working hard enough.”

Essentially I need to keep pushing up in weight I think. Today’s WOD was super tough, but I could talk and use my fingers during the minute and a half cool down between each series. She has a point. I finished faster than I think I should have. Dammit.

“Chest up! Heels down! Keep going! If you can do more than five, you’re not pushing hard enough!”

Essentially, in Ass Kicker’s house of pain, it’s FORM FORM FORM, and PUSH PUSH PUSH. I actually love it when she says this stuff. I may want to die, but doing these work outs with proper form is a much better philosophy than trying to go through the WOD’s fast and screwing up your lower back or knees. It’s hard, but it’s worth it. And by all means, push yourself. I’ve already realized how much more my body can do than I used to think it could. Now it is time to push harder.

“If this was easy everyone would be skinny.”

#truth #wisdomfromAssKicker #whyamIusinghashtags?

“If you don’t stand after that lift, you’ll give me five burpees.”

Ass Kicker is tough as hell. She will not take it easy on any of us. She will call us out on form, and push the limits of what we think we can do. She will not always be nice about it. But I have learned so much and have gotten so much stronger, I can’t see a fault in that.

All jokes aside, I am quite proud to be training under Ass Kicker. The atmosphere she has created is worth every drop of sweat, every grunt of effort, and every ounce of my respect.

Signing out.

Leave a Reply

