My Slow Descent Into Health

Day 60

Two months in this journey, I can’t believe it.

That’s all??!

Sometimes this seems to drag on forever. Losing weight really is a daily battle of the mind more than the body. The body is capable of incredible things, but breaking habits and developing self control, that is the real trick. How often do we say the words, “I can’t?”

We all accomplish these incredible feats. We have and raise children, we have incredible careers, we over come impossible odds, and yet (what is it, like) one third of the population is considered “obese?” That’s insane!

It’s been about fifteen days since I finished my first Whole30 and today I am starting my second. Why?

Self control.

I did it for the thirty days, but I really didn’t master the habits I’m going to need to succeed. The amount of Papa John’s cheese sticks I’ve had in the last two weeks is a little ridiculous. I keep saying it isn’t that bad because it is still better than what I did before, but what it comes down to is this:

Oh.

I can have just one or two of these…

OMG…

This is so good…

NOM NOM NOM NOM…

So yeah, in the effort to continue to change my habits, I’m going to do another Whole30. It’s hard but I know I feel better when I eat better, I know I cook more when I know I can’t “just order.” Plus having an amount of days I’m doing it set helps me control myself a lot better.

This journey isn’t just about doing what I know I can do, I have to push. I have to do more than what I think I can accomplish so that I keep making progress. I need to keep pushing past things and making harder goals. I know it’s worth it. I know I can do it.

So cheers! Here’s to another challenge, another success and another step toward a healthier, less sugar and carb addicted, me.

Signing out.

IMG_7943

One comment on “Day 60

  1. smithiechick
    February 14, 2015

    You did it for 2 months already- nobody’s perfect right away. I would imagine it takes more than 45 days to break a lifetime of a lifestyle you were used to. But you are absolutely right about one thing- you ARE doing way better than you were before- look at you! Even your before/after pics tell the truth on that one. I don’t know anyone else with your kind of self-control and determination. Or your writing skills. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

