My Slow Descent Into Health

Day 85

Today is going okay. I won’t say I’m back at 100% but I’m working at feeling better, and so I will call it a win. Tomorrow I have to at least get closer to back on my healthy eating regime. Eating unhealthy food definitely hasn’t felt great on my stomach, and I don’t think that would help anyone’s mood. 

I’ve been talking a little more with other military spouses since I wrote about this a little yesterday, and it seems like this is pretty damn common. That peaked my interest, because while one can imagine being the spouse of a military member being hard, I don’t think people understand how hard it can be sometimes. And if it’s this common for a spouse to lose it, no wonder so many members get ptsd and other such issues after. They’re going through a hard time, we’re going through a hard time. Our hard time makes their hard time harder and it’s just some crazy vicious cycle. Our only option is to get out big girl* knickers on and suck it up.**

At any rate I don’t think it’s something we should be scared to talk about. If it is so common, why isn’t there a warning? 

Here, make this an incoming spouse memo:

“Hey there new military spouse, 

This life style is really hard (and I mean, really hard, like, devastatingly hard) sometimes. Even the strongest of the strong break sometimes. 1) Try to be aware of your feelings and take care of yourself appropriately. 2) Even if you break, it doesn’t mean you failed. Keep rocking it girl, we all go through it. It’s lonely, and it’s hard, but it’s worth it. 

Sincerely, 

Every military spouse out there (who has more than likely broke down at some too).”

Keep on keeping on. 



Signing off.

*spouse. Not just girl’s, but for the sake of the point I’ll let this one slide. 

** Sounds like a blast, am I right?

One comment on “Day 85

  1. sewsarafox
    March 11, 2015

    We all go through the same emotions- don’t give up! ☀️💝💕

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2015 by in comedy, Losing weight and tagged , , , , , .
