My Slow Descent Into Health

Day 91 That time I got professional make up done

After taking a few more days to really focus on recouping, and gain more perspective, I am here. In Bahrain, there are a lot of things to do but really taking a few days to pamper yourself and boost your confidence can be essential. Working out does this, but there are a few other things as well. When I work out all the time, I don’t necessarily take my time to do my make up every day, so one of my “recovery” days, I spent focusing on the fun of make up.

I went to a local professional make-up artist named Jennifer Perrin, and got some lessons and my make-up done. We had talked about doing a pin-up look, and she took it one step further and did a “pin-up vamp” style that I thought was so much fun and ran with. We did all of this at a local spa she works at called The Beauty Spot so my hair stylist, Natalie, pitched in and did a fun pin-up hair style, and since once it was all done the manager took pictures. As if getting my make up done wasn’t enough, it was practically an impromptu photo session. As fun as the make up was, the atmosphere that these ladies offer really makes it one of my favorite “pick me up” places to go.

Right off the bat she could tell I have been stressed and gave me a tid-bit on opening up my eyes and relaxing them with Kahina Eye Serum.* I normally use tea bags on my eyes as an “at home remedy”** for dark eyes, but this does the exact same thing, if not better and for a longer time. Plus it’s quicker. I have three kids. It’s very rare I have time to sit around with tea bags… on my eyes.

After that she used KETT foundation, and this is the thing that really took the cake for me. She was talking about it while applying it, and explained that it has a wax something to it, so it wouldn’t be greasy or heavy to wear. I wore it all day, and I have to say- my skin felt great after washing it off, it never felt heavy nor looked funny. I didn’t have “cake face.” It was really nice to wear. After that she did the rest of my face, talking about it as she went, so it definitely felt like a learning experience. I learned I was doing the crease of my shadow wrong for some time (which explains some things) as I was pointing the brush down instead of back.

All in all, it was a lot of fun. It felt great, I felt great, and Jennifer (and her co workers) are great fun to hang out with.

unnamed-1 unnamed

unnamed-2unnamed-3

I walked around all day with it, and got so many compliments it was almost over whelming. I really enjoyed myself, and even wore it to a concert that night. The look was so much fun, and so recognizable. I wasn’t sure how pin up hair would look, or how to do pin up make up, and I learned a lot from this.

I’m still taking a little more time from working out. I’ve been taking it slow and spending some time reading and just self evaluating. I’m feeling a lot better, and I just trying to recognize my triggers and stresses and over come them. It’s been good to take the time to myself but I’m ready to get back to my life as well. I’m getting a new tattoo next week to give myself a reminder to be strong, flexible and adaptable. To remember to take time to do things I enjoy in the midst of juggling everything I need to take care of. It’s a funky cool little thing, and I’ll share more about it when I get it.

I think it can be hard to recognize if your taking care of your feelings when you’re busy be strong about everything else. Ladies, whether you work, stay at home mom, stay at home wife, whatever, you need things too. Getting busy being busy is good, but too much of it can be bad. We have to remember to take time and take care of ourselves in other ways too.

Signing off.

* I’m still learning about all this stuff, but I love being open to new products. This is from The Jamila line which an Arabian product that is really catching steam out here, and it’s website for the eye serum is here. Feel free to poke around in there and see what it’s all about. She also used some of the “Prtty Peaushun” on my skin and that stuff was pretty amazing as well.

** plus the laughing factor of having tea bags on my eyes, I mean, come on. You lay there with tea bags on your eyes and not laugh at yourself. Go on, try it.

Leave a Reply

