My Slow Descent Into Health

Day 106 (Just blog already!) 

It’s my second day back at Crossfit and I feel a million times better. It’s amazing how we can convince ourselves that “the social aspect*” or the “pressure” is a reason to stay away from the gym. Whether or not to work out is a fight that really is all in my own mind, because once I’m there working out, taking my time but pushing myself hard, I feel amazing. I feel like I can do anything. It also affects my whole outlook on my day.

I feel better all day. I feel more motivated. I accomplish more. I drag my feet less. I know those all say essentially the same things, but when you’re doing all of them, it feels abundantly heavy. It feels like a metaphorical weight. I didn’t want to move, and I felt like that was fine until I remembered what it’s like to enjoy moving around. 

When I stopped working out, I realized my house also gets messier. Not “dirty” per say but not clean either.  Working out in the morning, whether I like it or not, improves the over all quality of my day and so, my life. 

I don’t know if it’s like that for everyone. I know many people don’t suffer the laziness or over all lack of motivation that I exhibited in the last couple weeks** but getting up and doing these work outs, it’s helping me feel better in an over all sense. It’s invigorating. 

Today’s strength work out was working up to my three rep max for a front squat. I got up to 85 before tapping out. Then we did 50-40-30-20-10 of sit ups and wall-balls*** which means a whopping one hundred and fifty of each. I did mine in about 14 minutes, which was actually longer than the others. I wanted to take my time today. I did sets of ten and five breaths between. 

I am sore now. Holy crap, I am sore now. 

For food I did really well. I’m just eating healthy now, I’m not following any specific plan. I am cutting out grains and almost all dairy. Im cutting out added sugars. So it’s loosely based on Whole 30. I’m okay with that. I fully endorse that plan to detox of sugars and other inflammatory foods when you’re trying to lose weight. I’m glad to be back. 

Signing out.  

*Not saying anything bad about the ladies. It’s more like a weird anxiety feeling where you’re scared of social interaction more than the people themselves. Figured I would clarify that. I love those beasts. They are bad ass and so supportive. 

**granted mine was also due to a slight depression, so there’s that to consider too. 

*** squat ass to grass, stand up and throw a medicine ball high against a wall. – I.E. The Devil. 

  

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2015 by in Losing weight, Working out and tagged , , , , , , , .
